Model assessment · Duxtop

Duxtop BT-200T1/8600BI Built-In and Portable Induction Cooktop review

A one-zone household induction cooktop with documented countertop and built-in placement, 15 power settings from 200 to 1,800 W, 15 separate cookware-temperature settings, and a 170-minute timer.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

BT-200T1 and 8600BI are the paired model numbers used on the manufacturer's exact listing and manual.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Duxtop BT-200T1/8600BI one-zone induction cooktop shown at an angle with its front display and touch controls
Secura official product image mapped to the BT-200T1/8600BI page; it shows the black single-zone surface and front controls. Manufacturer does not state whether it is a photograph or render. Secura — official Duxtop BT-200T1/8600BI product image
A useful fit for

Fits one-pan household cooking when a flat magnetic base of at least five inches, a dedicated 120 V/15 A circuit and either the manual's countertop arrangement or a qualified built-in installation all work for the kitchen.

The main tradeoff

The 200 W minimum power step is higher than the 100 W floor on the E200A and 9600LS/9610LS; the 170-minute timer is shorter than the latter pair's ten-hour timer. It heats only one pan, its temperature display estimates cookware heat rather than food temperature, and no included probe is documented. Built-in placement needs a properly measured cutout and qualified installation.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does this model document both countertop use and built-in installation?

Yes. The exact page describes both and the paired BT-200T1/8600BI manual gives separate instructions for a counter and an installed cutout. The built-in option is still a household 120 V/15 A plug-in cooktop and calls for qualified installation.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can it heat two pans at the same time?

No. It is one zone; changing the installation placement does not add a second induction area.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the lowest power setting meet a maximum 150 W requirement?

No. The exact manual lists 200 W as its lowest power mode. A 200 W limit fits, while a 150 W-or-lower limit does not.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does its Temperature mode tell me the inside temperature of food?

No. The manual says a sensor below the glass estimates cookware temperature. A wired food probe is not documented for this package, so probe inclusion is unknown rather than confirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can its timer cover a four-hour unattended countdown?

No. Its documented countdown tops out at 170 minutes, and the timer's automatic shutoff is not a claim that unattended cooking is safe.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will a pan with a four-inch flat magnetic base meet the manual's stated minimum?

No. The exact manual specifies at least five inches for the flat magnetic base; the pan's rim diameter does not replace that requirement.

Explore this need in the finder →

A single-zone induction cooktop that the manufacturer documents for either countertop use or qualified built-in installation. Its appeal is that two placement plans share one ordinary 120 V supply; its operating range is simpler than the Duxtop models that start at 100 W.

The unusual part is where it can go

BT-200T1/8600BI is not just another portable burner with a trim kit implied by its name. The exact Secura page calls it both portable and built-in, and the model-specific Duxtop manual gives separate countertop and cutout installation instructions. That makes it relevant if you want one induction zone on a counter now, or a compact drop-in installation in a suitably prepared worktop. It remains a plug-in, 120 V household appliance: the manual specifies a dedicated 15 A outlet and labels the cooktop for household use only. Built-in does not mean a hardwired 208/240 V hob, nor does it turn this into a commercial appliance.

For countertop use, the manual calls for a dry, stable, level, noncombustible, nonmetallic surface and at least four inches around walls or objects for ventilation; leave its inlet and outlet clear. For cutout installation, it calls for a qualified installer, a prescribed opening, side clearance, a sufficiently thick counter panel and open space beneath. Its diagram shows an approximately 285 × 355 mm cutout and roughly 55 mm side clearance. Confirm the full drawing and the actual surface material before making a cut; the printed outer dimensions are about 11.9 × 14.6 × 3 inches, but the cabinet layout—not the appliance’s bare width—decides whether the installation works. A counter repair or electrical alteration is not a casual portability feature.

One zone, with separate power and temperature controls

This cooktop heats one pan at a time. It cannot cover a two-pot meal simultaneously, regardless of the control choices. In Power mode its 15 discrete settings span 200 to 1,800 W; the lowest selectable level is 200 W, not a very low 100 W simmer step. Temperature mode has 15 settings from 140°F to 460°F. The two modes are separate: power is the direct choice for ramping heat, while Temperature mode cycles to manage cookware temperature for jobs such as frying or browning.

That temperature number is not a reading from a probe in food. The sensor sits below the glass and estimates cookware temperature; the manual warns that a pan can differ from the displayed setting and suggests learning how a specific pan behaves. The exact product page and manual do not document an included wired probe, so anyone who needs measured internal food temperature should treat probe inclusion as unconfirmed and look for a model whose exact package and probe modes are documented.

A countdown can be set for up to 170 minutes in either mode, after which the appliance beeps and shuts off. If no timer is set, it shuts off after 120 minutes without a control change. The panel also has a lock, but not a documented one-touch Boil or Keep Warm shortcut. The lowest power settings are described as simmer/keep-warm levels; that is not the same as a dedicated timed Keep Warm key.

Check the base of the pan, not its rim

As on other induction burners, the cookware itself must be induction-compatible. This manual asks for a flat ferrous magnetic base at least five inches across, centered over the circular guide. It lists iron, cast iron, magnetic steel, enameled iron and magnetic-bottom stainless steel as suitable; glass, ceramic, copper, aluminum and nonmagnetic stainless steel are not. If a magnet will not hold to the base, or the base is under five inches, this model is a poor fit even if the pot’s top looks large. The documents reviewed do not set a maximum pan diameter, so do not read the ring or the counter dimensions as a guarantee for a very wide skillet.

The manual lists the appliance at 6.9 lb and includes four sealing strips for the cutout. Its full retail-box contents are not itemized on the product page, so those statements do not establish that every accessory or installation piece is present in every current package. The printed manual gives a two-year limited warranty for personal use; it says commercial or institutional use voids that warranty.

Who should choose it—and who should compare

Choose the BT-200T1/8600BI when built-in installation is an actual requirement and a qualified installer can meet the specified cutout, clearance, surface and dedicated-circuit conditions. It also suits a household wanting one portable pan position with a simple 200–1,800 W range and a short, 170-minute timer. The important appeal is the documented choice of countertop or built-in placement, not a broader cooking capacity.

If you mainly cook on a counter and value a lower power floor, compare the Duxtop E200A: its exact manual starts at 100 W and offers 20 Power and 20 separate Temperature settings, while this model starts at 200 W and has 15 of each. If a long timer or one-touch controls matter more, the 9600LS and 9610LS documents show a 10-hour timer and Boil/Keep Warm shortcuts, but their reviewed records describe countertop units rather than a built-in installation path. Those alternatives still heat only one pan. None of these choices should be made on headline wattage alone: your compatible base, outlet, ventilation arrangement and essential temperature feedback need to agree with the exact manual.

This assessment is based on the current manufacturer listing and the exact-model manual, not on personal use or laboratory measurements. Availability was not checked.

Key details at a glance

Simultaneous cooking zones1
Built-in installation documentedYes
Documented placement optionscountertop / built_in
Selectable power modes200 / 300 / 400 / 500 / 600 / 700 / 800 / 900 / 1000 / 1100 / 1200 / 1300 / 1500 / 1600 / 1800 W
Lowest selectable power mode200 W
Maximum listed power1800 W
Listed unit weight6.9 lb
Power-cord length5 ft
Listed voltage120 V
Listed manufacturer's warranty term2 year
Dedicated Keep Warm shortcutNo
Minimum cookware base5 in
Temperature Mode minimum140 °F
Temperature Mode maximum460 °F
Temperature settings15
Countdown timer maximum170 min
Listed supply voltage120 V
Listed unit weight6.9 lb
Cooktop finishBlack
Zone heating technologiesinduction

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Probe and temperature distinction

The exact page and manual do not document an included wired food probe or food-internal mode. Because the complete box contents are not enumerated, probe inclusion remains unknown/null and cannot meet an essential probe requirement.

Cookware fit and manual discrepancy

The exact BT-200T1/8600BI manual requires a flat magnetic base at least five inches in diameter, centered on the guide. It does not specify a maximum pan diameter.

Electrical and placement note

The exact manual specifies a dedicated 120 V/60 Hz/15 A outlet or circuit and labels the appliance household use only. Its built-in installation remains a 120 V plug-in unit; do not mistake it for a hardwired 208/240 V cooktop.

Manual-version differences

The scanned 20-page manufacturer-authored manual names BT-200T1 and 8600BI on the cover and both models on its specifications page. The archived public copy has PDF metadata title containing 20231109 and prints Copyright 2020-2024 Secura, Inc. Its edition in a current retail package is unverified.

Body dimension order

The exact manual specifies 11.9 x 14.6 x 3 inches; its built-in installation drawing labels the outside top dimensions at about 11.89 x 14.65 inches and shows a separate 285 x 355 mm cutout. The different uses have different installation requirements.

Placement and permitted-use guidance

The manufacturer manual documents countertop use and built-in installation separately. Countertop guidance requires a stable, dry, level, noncombustible, nonmetallic surface with four inches of general ventilation clearance. Built-in guidance calls for a qualified installer, a 285 x 355 mm cutout, at least 55 mm side clearance, a 30 mm minimum counter panel, free space below rather than a drawer, and four sealing strips. The exact manual's general four-inch ventilation line and the built-in-specific side-clearance drawing are not merged into a single inferred requirement.

Sources for this assessment

Choose for the cooking setup you will use.

Compare exact model controls, zone count, pan fit and operating limits—not only headline wattage.