Model assessment · Salton

Induction Cooktop, 1500W with Pause & Lock Functions review

Exact Salton ID2155 single-zone portable induction cooktop. The exact product page and English booklet document ten Power levels, ten temperature presets, a three-hour countdown, dedicated pause, Keep Warm and lock functions. Page showed Sold Out on 2026-10-25; retained as reference-only, not purchase-eligible.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

Salton’s exact page specifies 1,500 W maximum, ten Power levels, ten temperature choices, Pause & Lock, a two-hour Keep Warm function and a three-hour timer. The exact manual supplies control behavior, but no wattage-by-level table or measured temperature performance.

Black Salton ID2155 single-zone induction cooktop with circular cooking guide and front Pause, Keep Warm, Timer, Lock and temperature controls.
Exact Salton ID2155 product-gallery image visually checked against the exact model page and instruction-booklet control diagram. The manufacturer does not disclose whether this asset is a photo, rendering or composite. Salton — exact ID2155 manufacturer product gallery
A useful fit for

For a single indoor pan, ID2155’s documented difference is its separate Pause, two-hour Keep Warm and control-lock buttons alongside ordinary temperature/power control. Those concrete modes may suit a routine with brief interruptions or a defined warm-hold window, if the exact model becomes available again.

The main tradeoff

The official page displayed Sold Out on the check date, so this review keeps ID2155 out of buying recommendations. Its 1,500 W maximum and one induction zone are conventional; exact low Power wattage, minimum magnetic base, dimensions and plug subtype remain unknown. Pause times out after ten minutes; Keep Warm shuts off after two hours. No internal-food probe is documented.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is one countertop zone enough, and can your routine use a 4–10-inch manual-guided cookware diameter?

ID2155 is one-zone; the manual says suitable flat cookware 4–10 inches. It does not state minimum magnetic base diameter.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require a real Pause/Resume control?

Yes: the exact manual documents a Pause button that displays PAU and resumes the selected program; a paused program shuts off if not resumed within 10 minutes.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the dedicated Keep Warm mode cover your hold?

Manual describes an 80°C/175°F Keep Warm mode for up to two hours; this is not a probe-based food-temperature hold.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is an internal-food temperature probe essential?

No probe appears in the exact page or booklet; if required, do not use ID2155 as a match.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does a three-hour countdown fit your session?

The exact manual documents a 1-minute to 3-hour countdown, after which the unit beeps and shuts off.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does your pan exceed the manual’s 10-inch diameter ceiling?

The exact booklet says 4–10 inches; minimum magnetic base diameter is unknown. Larger cookware falls outside the stated range.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a guaranteed low wattage or exact outlet subtype?

Per-level watts and exact NEMA subtype are not provided. Unknown limits cannot satisfy those essential needs.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Salton ID2155 is a one-zone countertop induction cooktop whose value proposition is unusually clear: Pause, Keep Warm and Lock are separate controls, not assumptions inferred from a generic temperature setting. Salton’s exact product page identifies model ID2155 and UPC 061283117861; the official product-manual index lists the model, and the manufacturer’s downloadable English booklet names ID2155 on its cover. The product page showed Sold Out on October 25, 2026, and the exact collection variant was unavailable in the archived catalog snapshot. This is a useful reference assessment, not a claim that you can buy one today or a hands-on performance report.

Why the three dedicated buttons matter

Pause is designed for a brief interruption: the manual says the display shows PAU and the cooktop pauses the selected program so cookware can be moved. Press Pause again to resume. If the program is not resumed within ten minutes, the cooktop automatically turns off. That distinction matters if you step away: Pause is not an indefinite simmer hold. Without using Pause, removing cookware can produce the POT warning and an automatic shutoff, so the button offers a documented way to pause while a pan is temporarily off the zone.

Keep Warm is another separate mode. The booklet says the display shows 2, corresponding to 80°C/175°F, and that the mode can keep food warm for up to two hours before shutting off. This is a defined cooker setting, not a probe that measures food’s internal temperature. The separate ID1880 is the Salton option in this group with a wired temperature probe and distinct probe CHECK/HOLD behavior; choose that type of feature if a target food temperature matters more than an ordinary warming mode.

Lock is useful when you want the selected setting to remain unchanged. The manual says to press and hold Lock until the unit beeps and its indicator lights; temperature, power and timer adjustments then stop responding, and only the Power button remains active. Hold Lock again to release it. This guards against accidental button changes; it is not a child-safety barrier or a substitute for switching the cooktop off.

One zone, 1,500 watts, separate settings

The official page describes one 1,500 W induction cooktop with ten adjustable Power levels and a 60–240°C/140–465°F temperature range. The manual gives ten Fahrenheit setpoints—140, 175, 210, 250, 285, 320, 355, 400, 430 and 465°F—and ten Celsius setpoints. It explains that Power mode changes wattage and cooking speed, but neither page nor booklet supplies a watt figure for every level or a verified lowest wattage. A buyer with a strict low-heat wattage ceiling should treat that value as unknown rather than assume level 1 meets it.

Temperature mode and Power mode are different ways to control this single zone. The manual presents temperature numbers as chosen settings; it does not provide a laboratory accuracy result or explain a sensor location. Do not mistake a displayed setpoint for a measured pan-surface temperature. The general auto-off timer is more specific: set it from one minute to three hours in one-minute increments, and the cooktop beeps and turns off when the time expires. That countdown is separate from Keep Warm’s two-hour limit and Pause’s ten-minute timeout.

Cookware and power planning

The exact booklet asks for suitable flat-bottom magnetic cookware and gives a 4–10-inch cookware-diameter range. A magnet that sticks firmly to the pan base is a practical compatibility check, but the stated diameter is not a published minimum magnetic base measurement. The manual warns against heating an empty pan and says the surface can remain hot from the cookware. Its parts diagram identifies one cooking zone, front controls and a hot-surface indicator; the exact product gallery image shows the same black single-zone arrangement. Salton does not identify whether that gallery image is a photograph, a rendering or a composite.

The booklet directs the user to plug into a 120 V outlet and identifies a polarized plug, but it does not give an exact NEMA subtype, cord length or circuit-sharing permission. It says household use only and not to use outdoors. It also notes that the unit shuts off when voltage rises above 150 V or falls below 80 V. This is still a small appliance intended for a dry, level indoor countertop; the manual does not verify an RV, outdoor or built-in installation plan.

Who should keep it on a shortlist?

If ID2155 becomes available again, its strongest case is a one-pan cook who specifically wants a manual-described Pause/Resume button, a dedicated two-hour Keep Warm setting and a lock while still having temperature mode, ten Power levels and a three-hour countdown. The tradeoffs are one zone and 1,500 W maximum, unknown Power-level wattages, no documented food probe, and the dated Sold Out status. For a simpler currently listed Salton one-zone alternative, ID1948 has eight temperature settings and a three-hour timer but no documented Pause or dedicated Keep Warm mode. The slim ID2066 lists ten Temperature settings and a 300–1,500 W power range, but its booklet does not describe the ID2155’s separate Pause or Keep Warm controls. Those product-page/manual distinctions are more useful than calling one cooktop universally superior. If a current purchase is essential, first verify exact ID2155 availability and model identity with Salton; until then, this model remains reference-only rather than a buying recommendation.

Key details at a glance

Simultaneous cooking zones1
Built-in installation documentedNo
Maximum listed power1500 W
Included wired food probeNo
Listed voltage120 V
Dedicated Keep Warm shortcutYes
Temperature Mode minimum140 °F
Temperature Mode maximum465 °F
Temperature settings10
Countdown timer maximum180 min
Listed supply voltage120 V
Cooktop finishBlack
Zone heating technologiesinduction

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Cookware fit and manual discrepancy

Exact manual calls for suitable flat magnetic cookware and states 4–10-inch cookware diameter. It does not define this as magnetic-base diameter; leave minimum base width unknown. Page FAQ advises that the glass can warm from the hot pan.

Electrical and placement note

Use a 120 V outlet and polarized plug per the exact booklet. Manual says household use only and do not use outdoors. It documents shutdown if voltage exceeds 150 V or drops below 80 V; this does not establish a dedicated-circuit requirement or exact plug standard.

Sources for this assessment

Choose for the cooking setup you will use.

Compare exact model controls, zone count, pan fit and operating limits—not only headline wattage.