Model assessment · Amazon Basics

Amazon Basics 1800 W Portable Induction Cooktop C18-RK18W01B review

A one-zone countertop induction cooktop with eight discrete wattage settings, a separate eight-choice 160–440°F temperature mode, a three-hour countdown, and a 5.7–8.2-inch cookware diameter range.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Amazon’s U.S. product-detail copy and linked manual identify exact model C18-RK18W01B. Current offer availability and price were not verified; check the exact label and live listing before purchase.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Amazon Basics C18-RK18W01B portable induction cooktop with one marked cooking zone, front display and labeled touch controls
Primary image from the exact Amazon Basics C18-RK18W01B product listing. It shows the black single-zone glass appliance and its front control strip; Amazon does not state whether the image is a photograph or rendering. Amazon-hosted original image asset for the exact listing
A useful fit for

A one-pan household cook with flat magnetic cookware within the manual’s 5.7–8.2-inch diameter range, enough six-inch ventilation clearance, and a grounded 120 V indoor outlet can use its eight wattage choices or separate eight-choice temperature mode, lock, and three-hour automatic-stop timer.

The main tradeoff

It is one zone, tops out at 1800 W and 440°F, provides no documented food probe, and gives no cord length or minimum magnetic-base diameter. The manual’s 5.7–8.2-inch cookware-diameter range does not say whether it measures rim or base, so borderline pans need direct confirmation; the six-inch clearance may be awkward on crowded counters.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

I want one pan at a time and a countdown that reaches three hours. Does this model meet a 180-minute minimum?

Yes, for exactly the documented ceiling: the exact guide allows a 1-minute to 3-hour countdown and turns the unit off when time expires. It does not meet a requirement above 180 minutes.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I use a pan with a documented 9-inch cookware diameter on this cooktop?

No. The exact manual lists 5.7–8.2 inches as the suitable cookware-diameter range. It does not say whether that means pan rim or flat magnetic base, so check borderline measurements rather than assuming a fit.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will this model heat two separate pans at once?

No. The exact page and manual identify a single induction cooking zone. If simultaneous two-pan cooking is essential, choose a confirmed double-zone setup instead.

Explore this need in the finder →
I need a documented control lock that inhibits setting changes. Does this model have one?

Yes. The exact guide says Child Lock disables every control except Off and is released by holding the lock button for one second. It can be enabled while heating, but it does not cool the glass or replace supervision.

Explore this need in the finder →

One zone with separate wattage and temperature settings

The Amazon Basics C18-RK18W01B is a one-pan countertop induction cooker, not a two-zone substitute for a full range. Amazon’s exact U.S. product-detail record identifies this model and links a 13-page Welcome Guide whose cover carries the matching ASIN B07S2628R9 and title “1800 W Portable Induction Cooktop.” The guide is the useful source here: the product page’s availability and price were not captured, so this review does not promise an in-stock offer or a particular selling price.

Know what the eight power steps and eight temperature choices do

Power mode gives eight named wattage levels: 300, 500, 800, 1,000, 1,200, 1,400, 1,600 and 1,800 W. This is a useful broad range for someone who prefers selecting a power band rather than a continuously variable control. Temperature mode is separate and lists 160, 200, 240, 280, 320, 360, 400 and 440°F. Those are eight fixed choices, spaced 40°F apart; they are not an open-ended temperature dial.

The manual explains that temperature mode first heats the cookware at full power, then cycles power on and off to maintain the selected setting. That can be a more relevant control than a watt level for some steady pan tasks, but the guide does not describe a food probe or a measured pan-surface reading. Do not treat 320°F on the display as an internal food temperature or proof that every pan is actually at that temperature. If a wired probe is essential, compare the Nuwave PIC Titanium 30291LW; it is a different single-zone design with documented probe operation. If you need two separate pans heating together, read the Duxtop 9620LS assessment instead.

Cookware fit is deliberately narrow

Induction requires a compatible magnetic base, and the C18-RK18W01B guide gives a cookware-diameter range of 5.7–8.2 inches. It identifies flat-bottom iron, cast iron, magnetic stainless steel and enamelled cast iron as suitable; glass, ceramic, copper, bronze and aluminum are not. The manual suggests checking the cookware bottom with a magnet, but it does not separately define the minimum magnetic-base diameter or say whether its 5.7–8.2-inch cookware diameter refers to the rim or flat base. If a pan is near either boundary, confirm the exact measurement with Amazon rather than inferring a fit from its rim or the cooktop ring. A nine-inch pan exceeds the manual’s published suitable range.

Timer and lock behavior

The countdown runs from one minute up to three hours. When it expires, the unit switches off and returns to standby; pausing a cook also pauses its timer. The manual additionally says that the unit goes to standby after 60 seconds without a control press, or after cookware has been removed for a minute. Those automatic behaviors are useful limits, not permission to leave hot oil or food unattended.

A child-lock button is documented. Pressing it disables the controls other than the off button, and holding it for a second releases the lock. The guide allows locking while the cooktop is heating, so this is a real control-lock function, not a cover or a promise that the surface cannot be hot. The glass may retain heat transferred from a pan after use.

The product detail page also links Amazon’s private-brand warranty. Its warranty document lists a one-year period for Amazon Basics products, starting with the original retail purchase and not transferring to a later owner. The remedy is Amazon’s choice of replacement or refund under the stated terms; a replacement is not promised to be identical. That is worth checking if you are comparing a used unit, because an old purchase does not automatically carry the original purchaser’s coverage forward.

Plan the outlet and counter clearance

The rating table gives 120 V, 60 Hz, maximum 15 A and maximum 1,800 W. Use a properly grounded outlet and confirm the rating label on the particular unit; the guide does not tell you to convert those numbers into a special branch-circuit arrangement. It is a household-use appliance for dry indoor areas, not outdoor cooking or commercial service. Place it on a stable, level, heat-resistant nonmetal surface and keep at least six inches from walls or other objects, with ventilation openings clear. That clearance can matter more than the cooktop’s body dimensions when counter space is tight.

The manual lists the body at about 11.4 inches wide, 2.6 inches high and 13 inches deep, with a net weight of about 6.2 pounds. Those numbers help with carrying and storage, but they do not make this a built-in appliance or establish a recess-safe installation. The cord is included, but its length is not specified in the guide.

Who should keep it on the shortlist?

This model suits someone who wants one ordinary indoor induction zone, has a compatible flat pan within the documented diameter band, can provide the specified outlet and six-inch breathing room, and values a separate temperature mode, a three-hour countdown and a control lock. Its limits are just as concrete: it cannot serve two burners at once, does not document a food probe, stops at 440°F in Temperature mode and does not confirm how small a magnetic base can be. If your cookware sits outside the published size band, you need a larger cooking surface or need to measure food internally, compare those requirements before choosing rather than inferring capability from the 1,800-watt headline. Amazon’s exact model listing and manual identify C18-RK18W01B; check the model label, current offer and supplied instructions on the unit you are considering.

Key details at a glance

Simultaneous cooking zones1
Built-in installation documentedNo
Documented placement optionscountertop
Selectable power modes300 / 500 / 800 / 1000 / 1200 / 1400 / 1600 / 1800 W
Lowest selectable power mode300 W
Maximum listed power1800 W
Included wired food probeNo
Body depth13 in
Body width11.4 in
Body height2.6 in
Listed unit weight6.2 lb
Listed voltage120 V
Listed manufacturer's warranty term1 year
Dedicated Keep Warm shortcutNo
Temperature Mode minimum160 °F
Temperature Mode maximum440 °F
Temperature settings8
Countdown timer maximum180 min
Listed supply voltage120 V
Listed unit weight6.2 lb
Cooktop finishBlack
Shared output between zonesNo
Maximum combined power across active zones1800 W
Left zone maximum when used alone1800 W
Zone heating technologiesinduction

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Cookware fit and manual discrepancy

Only flat-bottom cookware with a magnetized metal base is listed as suitable. The guide gives 5.7–8.2 inches for cookware diameter and states that values below or above that range are unsuitable. It does not distinguish rim diameter from base diameter or give a minimum magnetic-base measurement.

Electrical and placement note

The exact manual lists 120 V~, 60 Hz, maximum rated current 15 A and maximum 1800 W. It requires a properly grounded outlet and instructs users to match supply voltage/current to the unit rating label; no separate branch-circuit configuration is stated.

Warranty start and exclusions note

The exact product detail page links an Amazon Private Brands limited warranty whose product table lists one year for Amazon Basics products. Coverage begins from the original retail purchase and is not transferable; Amazon chooses replacement or refund subject to its terms.

Sources for this assessment

Choose for the cooking setup you will use.

Compare exact model controls, zone count, pan fit and operating limits—not only headline wattage.