Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
I can use earlier models and need a single-zone cooktop with separate temperature settings. Does RJ21-IN fit?
Yes. The U.S. guide identifies one induction cooking zone and a separate TEMP function with eight listed Fahrenheit settings. Choose earlier models; current stock is not established, and these settings are not documented as food-probe readings.
Explore this need in the finder →Will the Chefman RJ21-IN meet a requirement for a 180-minute or longer timed shutdown?
No. The exact guide allows up to 2 hours 59 minutes (179 minutes) and shuts cooking down at that limit; a 180-minute minimum is not met.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I rely on RJ21-IN for a very small pan with a narrow magnetic base?
The exact guide does not provide a minimum base diameter. Because that essential fit is unknown, the finder cannot confirm it; check the appliance manual and cookware before relying on a specific small vessel.
Explore this need in the finder →What pan size limit does the exact RJ21-IN guide give?
The guide says not to use pans larger than 12 inches and cautions that a pan spanning the full cooktop width may heat more slowly at the edges. That is a manual ceiling, not an independently measured performance result.
Explore this need in the finder →Who the earlier RJ21-IN guide can help
The Chefman RJ21-IN is best treated as an exact-model reference for someone who already owns the Precision Induction Cooktop or has found a seller offering an older unit. Chefman's U.S. document library still lists the RJ21-IN guide, but its current product feed did not return an active RJ21-IN product page. That does not establish whether any reseller has a unit in stock, and no current price or retailer condition is assumed here. In the finder this model appears only if you opt into earlier results.
Keep the suffix. Chefman's same Electric Cooktops library lists an RJ21 too, but its separate guide calls that model an Electric Single Burner and describes burner plates, a heating element, and a temperature-control knob. The RJ21-IN guide instead identifies a Precision Induction Cooktop with function, plus/minus and power controls. They are not interchangeable spellings or finishes. Check the model label on the appliance itself and the guide supplied for that code before judging a used listing.
One zone with two different control scales
The exact RJ21-IN guide documents a single induction cooking zone. Its Power function provides eight discrete labels: 300, 500, 700, 1,000, 1,200, 1,400, 1,600 and 1,800 watts. This gives a cook several useful choices without an unsubstantiated claim that every number between the endpoints is selectable. The lowest documented option is 300 W, so it will not meet a strict need for a 200 W, 150 W or lower setting.
Separate from power, the TEMP function lists eight Fahrenheit setpoints: 140, 180, 212, 260, 300, 360, 420 and 465°F. They are unevenly spaced; the largest gap between neighboring values is 60°F. The guide does not explain the sensing method, establish calibrated pan-surface accuracy, or document a wired food probe. Treat these as selectable cooktop temperature settings, not as a thermometer reading inside food. If a measured internal-food target is essential, this manual alone cannot confirm it.
A countdown can be set from one minute to 2 hours 59 minutes. At the end, the guide says the cooktop stops its operation and returns to standby. That is a 179-minute limit—not a three-hour timer—and it is not permission to leave the burner unattended. The same guide describes a child-lock combination using the plus and minus keys, with On/Off still available. No staged programs or app-guided recipes are documented.
Cookware fit and countertop setup need checking
The guide says the pan must have a ferrous magnetic base and names cast iron, enameled iron or steel, and magnetic stainless steel as suitable examples. Glass, copper, aluminum and pottery do not work unless the base includes the required magnetic layer. A magnet sticking is only a first check: Chefman cautions that some weakly magnetic pans still may not work efficiently. Most importantly for matching, the guide does not give a minimum pan-base diameter. If your small saucepan has to work reliably, do not assume the printed ring or a magnet test alone proves that fit.
At the other end, the manufacturer says not to use a pan wider than 12 inches. A pan spanning that full cooktop width may transfer heat more slowly at its outside edges. This is useful model-specific guidance, not an independent heat-distribution test. Choose a flat magnetic pan whose base is suitable for induction and whose overall diameter stays within the manual's ceiling.
For placement, the guide calls for a stable, level, nonmetallic surface, open air vents and 3–5 inches between the unit and walls or other objects; it does not reduce that range to one minimum clearance. It also warns against flammable surfaces and nearby open fires or heaters. The exact U.S. guide does not state the appliance voltage, circuit amperage, cord length, weight or body dimensions. Check the rating label on the actual unit and leave the ventilation space before planning to use it under a cabinet or in an enclosed appliance garage. The guide says this model is for household use, not commercial work, and generally discourages outdoor use.
Limits, alternatives and a careful used-unit decision
The guide describes a three-year limited warranty from purchase for the original U.S. retail consumer, subject to its conditions. That language does not establish that a previously owned unit is still covered; purchase date, proof and current service terms matter. The manual also requires unplugging before cleaning, cooling the glass, and keeping liquid out of the housing. If the glass is cracked or the cord damaged, the manual says to stop using it rather than attempt a home repair.
For a current purchase, compare models with their own exact manuals instead of using RJ21-IN's controls as a proxy. A Duxtop 8100/8120 family cooktop offers separately documented temperature and power modes with a five-inch minimum pan base, while Nuwave PIC Titanium provides a different temperature/probe arrangement; those alternatives have different pan, timer and electrical details. The RJ21-IN remains potentially useful when a single-zone earlier model, 300 W minimum and up-to-12-inch pan ceiling suit the need. It is a poor fit if you require two pans, a confirmed small-pan minimum, an included food probe, a 180-minute timer, or exact electrical dimensions that the guide does not provide.
Key details at a glance
| Simultaneous cooking zones | 1 |
|---|---|
| Built-in installation documented | No |
| Documented placement options | countertop |
| Selectable power modes | 300 / 500 / 700 / 1000 / 1200 / 1400 / 1600 / 1800 W |
| Lowest selectable power mode | 300 W |
| Maximum listed power | 1800 W |
| Listed manufacturer's warranty term | 3 year |
| Dedicated Keep Warm shortcut | No |
| Temperature Mode minimum | 140 °F |
| Temperature Mode maximum | 465 °F |
| Temperature settings | 8 |
| Countdown timer maximum | 179 min |
| Cooktop finish | Black |
| Shared output between zones | No |
| Maximum combined power across active zones | 1800 W |
| Left zone maximum when used alone | 1800 W |
| Zone heating technologies | induction |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Paper, software and setup details
Cookware fit and manual discrepancy
Use induction-compatible ferrous, magnetic-base cookware. The manual says pans should not exceed 12 inches; when a pan spans the full 12-inch cooktop width, heat transfers more slowly near the edges. It offers a magnet as a screening check but warns that weak magnetic properties may not work efficiently. It does not establish a minimum magnetic-base diameter.
Electrical and placement note
The guide is labeled USA and discusses ordinary household outlets, but it does not state an exact voltage or amperage. Check the individual unit rating label and a suitable outlet rather than inferring voltage from the model name or market label.
Warranty start and exclusions note
The exact U.S. guide describes a three-year limited warranty from the retail purchase date for the original U.S. retail consumer, subject to its conditions. It is not a promise of coverage for a used unit or current warranty eligibility.
Sources for this assessment
- Chefman official Electric Cooktops document-library page
- Chefman exact RJ21-IN U.S. Precision Induction Cooktop User Guide
- Chefman exact RJ21-IN product image in the official U.S. guide and official document-library image asset
- Chefman official current all-products response, checked for an exact current product listing
Choose for the cooking setup you will use.
Compare exact model controls, zone count, pan fit and operating limits—not only headline wattage.
