Model assessment · Salton

Salton Induction Cooktop with Temperature Probe (ID1880) review

A single-zone countertop induction cooktop with a wired probe that can stop at a food-temperature target or maintain a set temperature in its separate Hold mode.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

ID1880 is a single-zone, 1,500 W countertop induction cooktop with a wired probe. The exact manual documents a three-hour general timer, a separate probe HOLD timer up to eight hours, 120 V indoor household use and 4–10 inch cookware diameter guidance. Exact collection and product-page stock labels conflict.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Salton ID1880 single-zone induction cooktop shown with a pan and wired food probe; front touch controls are visible.
Exact ID1880 product-gallery image shows the single induction zone and wired probe. The manufacturer does not disclose whether the image is a photograph, rendering or composite. Salton — exact ID1880 manufacturer product gallery
A useful fit for

A useful fit for someone who wants one countertop induction zone plus an included wired probe that can monitor food temperature, stop at a target, or hold a set temperature for a limited session. Its separate probe controls are the reason to choose this over a simpler single-zone cooktop.

The main tradeoff

The probe does not add another cooking zone, and the general cook timer is limited to three hours even though probe HOLD can run up to eight hours. It is a 1,500 W unit, not a two-zone system; the manual limits cookware to a stated 4–10 inch diameter range and says household use only and do not use outdoors. The page's temperature-setting count conflicts with its own FAQ, and individual power-level wattages, minimum magnetic base size, cord length and exact plug subtype are not established.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is an included wired food probe essential to your cooking plan?

Yes, ID1880 has a wired probe stored under the cooktop. CHECK shows the real food temperature and automatically stops at the selected target; HOLD maintains a set point for up to eight hours. Neither mode creates a second zone.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will one pan at a time be enough?

Yes. ID1880 has one induction zone. If two pans must heat at once, choose the dual-zone requirement instead; this model will not meet it.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need an eight-hour ordinary auto-off countdown?

The general countdown timer tops out at three hours. The separate eight-hour maximum applies to probe HOLD, not a general cooking timer; a required eight-hour countdown should rule this model out.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Salton ID1880 is unusual among one-zone portable induction cooktops for its wired food probe. The probe is stored under the appliance and plugs into a socket at the back; it can monitor food temperature in CHECK mode or maintain a set food temperature in HOLD mode. This is an assessment of Salton’s exact ID1880 page and its model-matched 13-page booklet, not a hands-on test. One listing caveat: the exact product page and its variant data said in stock when checked, while the collection card said sold out, so neither should be treated as a reliable stock promise.

A probe changes the cooking routine, not the number of burners

The cooktop still has one induction zone and a 1,500-watt maximum. Salton’s manual says the included wire probe goes into the food through a clip attached to the cookware. CHECK mode shows both the selected temperature and the measured internal food temperature; when the target is reached, the unit beeps, displays END and shuts off. That is the model’s defining feature for someone who wants a cooking endpoint tied to a food reading rather than only a cooktop setting.

HOLD is separate: it maintains a chosen food temperature until its timer expires or the appliance is turned off. The manual allows up to eight hours in this mode. The booklet advises placing the probe halfway into liquids and stirring while HOLD is active so the reading reflects a more evenly mixed liquid. That is useful setup guidance, not proof of calibrated accuracy or a guarantee that every pan, recipe or food will stay uniform. The probe cord and clip also have to be positioned as the manual directs; this is not wireless monitoring.

Do not confuse the three timers

The normal cooking countdown is an auto-off timer capped at three hours. Probe HOLD has its own timer, up to eight hours. There is also a dedicated Keep Warm shortcut that holds 175°F / 80°C for up to two hours. These limits answer different needs: an eight-hour probe-hold routine is documented, but an eight-hour general auto-off countdown is not. If your questionnaire answer makes a long general countdown essential, the ID1880 should drop out even though its probe mode can run longer.

Other useful controls are modest but concrete. Pause lets you temporarily remove cookware while retaining the program, then shuts off if not resumed within ten minutes. Lock prevents changes to temperature, power or timer controls until unlocked; only the power button remains active. These are distinct from the probe functions and do not add another burner.

Temperature selection is not a smooth dial claim

The booklet lists ten temperature entries: 140, 175, 210, 250, 285, 320, 355, 400, 430 and 465°F. It separately lists ten numbered power levels but does not map those numbers to watt values. Salton’s product description says ten temperature settings, while the FAQ on the same page says eight. The manual’s ten-entry table supports recording ten documented setpoints, but the online disagreement is real; do not assume a regular step size or shop by an unqualified “eight” or “ten” label. The page gives a 1,500 W maximum, which is still less output than a 1,800 W model if maximum nameplate power is a hard requirement.

Pan fit, outlet and placement are part of the decision

Like other induction units, ID1880 needs cookware with a magnetic ferrous bottom. Salton suggests a magnet check. Its manual says cookware should be between four and ten inches in diameter, but it does not define those numbers as a minimum magnetic base diameter; if your pan base is small, do not assume the rim measurement proves the fit. The manufacturer’s diameter guidance is more useful than treating the printed glass ring as a verified pan-base specification.

The exact booklet says household use only, do not use outdoors, and plug into a 120-volt outlet with the appliance’s polarized plug. It does not establish the precise NEMA plug subtype or cord length. Keep the unit on a dry, level surface, use compatible cookware, and never heat an empty pan. The manual also says the probe may become hot, so use care when handling it. Check the current unit label and instructions before planning counter reach or an outlet setup.

Who should shortlist it?

Consider the ID1880 when a food-internal probe is essential and one pan at a time is enough. In a needs-based shortlist, choosing “included wired probe” can keep it; requiring two simultaneous zones cannot. An eight-hour requirement should be checked carefully: probe HOLD can meet that mode-specific need, but the regular timer cannot. A simpler single-zone cooktop may be a better fit if you do not need the probe and would rather prioritize a different power ceiling or familiar controls; compare the Duxtop 9600LS review for a different 1,800 W single-zone option. If two pans must heat at once, compare the SPT SR-964TS dual-zone review instead. The ID1880’s value is its documented probe workflow, not a claim of faster cooking, measured precision or universal cookware fit.

Finally, read the manual supplied with the actual unit. Its warranty section is specific to Salton Canada and should not be used as a current U.S. warranty promise. The source-based recommendation here stays narrow: one indoor zone, a magnetic pan within the stated diameter range, and a wired probe routine whose CHECK, HOLD and ordinary timer limits you understand.

Key details at a glance

Simultaneous cooking zones1
Built-in installation documentedNo
Maximum listed power1500 W
Included wired food probeYes
Listed voltage120 V
Dedicated Keep Warm shortcutYes
Temperature Mode minimum140 °F
Temperature Mode maximum465 °F
Temperature settings10
Countdown timer maximum180 min
Listed supply voltage120 V
Cooktop finishBlack
Zone heating technologiesinduction

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Probe and temperature distinction

The included wired probe has a CHECK mode that displays set and real food-internal temperatures and automatically stops when the set target is reached. A distinct HOLD mode maintains its set temperature for up to eight hours; that is not the same as the ordinary three-hour countdown timer. The manual says to use the clip and place the probe in the food; it does not establish laboratory accuracy or suitability for every food.

Cookware fit and manual discrepancy

The exact manual says compatible cookware should have a magnetic ferrous bottom and gives 4 to 10 inches as a cookware diameter range. It does not explicitly define those figures as magnetic base diameter, so minimum_pan_base_diameter_in is unknown. The lower bound is not inferred from the pan rim or the printed heating-circle illustration.

Electrical and placement note

The manual says household use only, do not use outdoors, and plug into 120 volts. It identifies a polarized plug but not an exact NEMA subtype. Cord length, circuit-sharing recommendation, and dedicated-circuit requirement are not stated in the reviewed sources.

Sources for this assessment

Choose for the cooking setup you will use.

Compare exact model controls, zone count, pan fit and operating limits—not only headline wattage.