Model assessment · True Induction

True Induction MD-2B Mini Duo review

A compact two-zone, 120 V household induction unit with both inset and counter-foot arrangements documented in its current manual, and 1,750 W shared total output.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

The exact manufacturer page says available through participating retailers; that is not verified retailer stock. Confirm model code, unit rating, manual revision and supports before purchase.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

True Induction MD-2B Mini Duo two-zone cooktop with two burner rings and separate control groups.
Official exact-model image linked from the exact manufacturer product page; personally visually inspected. The manufacturer does not specify photograph versus rendering. True Induction exact model page; image served by its linked WDB Media asset host.
A useful fit for

Fits someone needing two active induction positions in a compact body and both an inset plan and an explicitly footed countertop plan, with 120 V household supply and clear airflow.

The main tradeoff

The two zones share a 1,750 W maximum, not independent maximum power. Its 150-minute countdown is paired with a separate 120-minute safety shutdown; the sources do not explain whether a longer selected timer overrides that shutdown.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the MD-2B Mini Duo provide two standard induction cooking zones?

The exact page and current manual identify a dual-burner residential induction cooktop; the manual documents a conventional flat-pan mode and shared output.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will a 4.8-inch magnetic base fit the MD-2B manual guidance?

The 2023 MD-2B manual recommends a flat magnetic cookware base from 4.72 to 10.24 inches.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is there a counter setup with supports specifically explained for the MD-2B?

Yes. Its 2023 manual says to screw the four included feet into the underside for direct counter use; it also documents an inset cutout.

Explore this need in the finder →

True Induction’s MD-2B Mini Duo is a compact two-zone induction top whose unusual advantage is that the exact 2023 manual explains both an inset installation and direct counter use with four screw-in feet. That makes it a more credible flexible setup than a cooktop whose page alone mentions countertop placement. The manual still requires ventilation and a stable, level surface; it does not turn the unit into an outdoor burner or make a fixed installation a casual countertop project.

Two zones on a compact 120-volt body

The current product page and model-labelled manual list 1,750 W total at 120 V/60 Hz. The manual describes ten Heat settings and a power-sharing ceiling of 14 combined levels when both zones are active. Turning up one side can reduce the other. When one side uses Temperature mode and the other uses Heat, the latter is limited to level 9. In practice, two pan positions are useful for small meals or a main and side, but they do not behave like two unrelated full-power countertop burners. True Induction does not give a per-zone watt schedule for the settings, so avoid translating those levels into an assumed watt split.

The 11 Temperature choices run from 150 to 450°F in 30-degree steps. This is a broad cooktop setting, not a probe reading in the food. The countdown accepts up to 150 minutes, while the manual also describes a separate safety shutdown after 120 minutes of use. Since the printed instructions do not explain which control takes precedence if a longer countdown is selected, consider the 120-minute shutdown the important session limit until the maker confirms how the exact revision behaves. A fan may continue after cooking; the glass can remain hot from pan contact even when induction has stopped.

Small footprint, two mounting plans

The exact product page rounds the size to 20.5 by 14 by 2 inches. The manual’s unit table uses different axis order and more detail: roughly 20.5 inches long, 14 1/8 inches wide and 2 3/16 inches high. For inset mounting, it gives a 13 3/8-by-19 3/8-inch cutout, edge spacing and ventilation guidance. For direct countertop use it explicitly says to screw the four included feet into the underside. It also asks for at least three inches between the bottom and storage or shelving and for the air intake and exhaust to remain unobstructed. Make sure the counter and under-unit clearance can satisfy those directions before deciding that the Mini Duo will be a simple extra burner.

This is where the MD-2B separates itself from its True Induction siblings. The TI-2C is the portable double burner with a larger 23 7/8-by-15 3/8-inch top and a contradictory 1,750/1,800 W rating between its page and manual. The TI-2B is a wider counter-inset model whose current instructions focus on a cutout and whose included feet are not stated. The MD-2B is the smaller form with an explicit foot-based counter mode. All three share power between their two zones; the compact body is not a way to escape that limit.

Check the cookware before planning two pans

The MD-2B manual recommends flat, magnetic cookware with a 4.72-to-10.24-inch base. Measure the flat magnetic area rather than a rolled rim, and check that the pan sits level. Its heating zone illustrations do not guarantee a specific pan’s coverage or temperature uniformity. Glass, ceramic, copper, aluminum, and round-bottom cookware are listed as incompatible. An induction-ready label or magnet attraction is only a compatibility check, not a guarantee that an oversized, warped or very small pan will operate as expected.

For someone who must have two cooking zones and a documented way to use them on a counter, this is the most compact, least ambiguous member of the family. If one pan at a time is enough, a single-zone portable model can leave more usable counter space and avoid power-sharing choices. If you need independently available high wattage, treat the MD-2B as a no until a source documents it: the current manual says the output is shared, and no separate per-zone watt values are published. If you need an exact watt threshold, low selectable wattage, a fine temperature increment or an uninterrupted cook longer than the stated safety limit, verify those details with the maker before relying on this model.

The manufacturer lists the MD-2B as available through participating retailers, which does not confirm current stock. Search by exact model code and verify the feet, manual edition, 120 V rating and base size in the delivered package. Its main strengths are a modest footprint and explicit countertop feet—not independent output or undocumented precision.

Sources: True Induction’s exact MD-2B page, linked MD-2B 2023 manual, earlier MD-2B manual, TI-2B page and TI-2C page.

Key details at a glance

Simultaneous cooking zones2
Built-in installation documentedYes
Documented placement optionsbuilt_in / countertop
Maximum listed power1750 W
Listed voltage120 V
Listed manufacturer's warranty term2 year
Minimum cookware base4.72 in
Temperature Mode minimum150 °F
Temperature Mode maximum450 °F
Temperature settings11
Countdown timer maximum150 min
Listed supply voltage120 V
Shared output between zonesYes
Maximum combined power across active zones1750 W
Independent maximum wattage on both zonesNo
Zone heating technologiesinduction / induction

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose for the cooking setup you will use.

Compare exact model controls, zone count, pan fit and operating limits—not only headline wattage.