Model assessment · SPT / Mr. Induction

SPT SR-964TB 1300W Black Induction Cooktop review

A black, one-zone 120 V induction cooktop with a 1,300 W listed maximum, discrete Keep Warm settings and a linked manual whose cover identifies SR-964T rather than the exact SR-964TB suffix.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Exact manufacturer identity SR-964TB, black finish. Do not merge this black base offer with the visually related SR-964TS silver SKU or the separate SR-964TB-42B included-pot package.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

SPT SR-964TB black one-zone induction cooktop with a large marked ring and labeled front touch-control panel, viewed from above at an angle
Official exact SR-964TB product-page gallery image. The exact page identifies the SKU and black finish; the image shows one black-glass cooking ring and controls. SPT does not state whether it is a photograph or rendering. SPT / Sunpentown — exact SR-964TB product page and official gallery
A useful fit for

A black-finish, single-zone countertop candidate for someone whose pan needs fit a listed 1,300 W ceiling and who values separate Cook and Keep Warm settings plus an eight-hour-listed timer. Low 100 W and 300 W selections are pulsed simulations rather than continuous outputs.

The main tradeoff

The exact SR-964TB page does not state a pan-base range, built-in cutout, electrical clearance, circuit-amp requirement, food probe, or included HK-4200B pot. Its linked PDF is titled SR-964T without the B and gives a conflicting 5.06 lb weight; page weight is listed as 4.5 lb, so normalized weight and all suffix-dependent manual-only limits remain unresolved.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the exact listing document a black, single-zone 1,300 W cooktop?

Yes. The manufacturer page names SR-964TB as black and lists a single induction ring and 1,300 W maximum.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are the lowest labelled Cook levels continuous 100 W and 300 W outputs?

No. The exact page says the 100 W and 300 W choices simulate those levels by cycling 500 W heat; do not mistake the labels for uninterrupted low output.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the bare SR-964TB offer confirm the HK-4200B 3.5 L pot is included?

No. A separate -42B package page names that pot; the base cooktop page does not establish it as included. An essential included-pot need therefore points away from this unknown-content base offer.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does this exact suffix document built-in installation or a magnetic-base diameter interval?

The exact product page does not publish a built-in drawing or cookware-base range. The linked PDF is titled SR-964T, without B, so its manual-only conditions are not assigned to SR-964TB.

Explore this need in the finder →

SPT’s SR-964TB is the black-finish member of its compact, single-zone 1,300-watt cooktop line. Its exact product page identifies the black SKU, lists a 120 V / 60 Hz supply, and presents an active manufacturer offer; that does not guarantee a particular seller has physical inventory. This is a countertop choice for one induction-compatible pan at a time, not a second burner, a documented built-in opening, or an included-pot package.

Read the low settings as cycling, not steady watts

The product page lists seven Cook labels: 100, 300, 500, 700, 900, 1,100 and 1,300 W. The first two are explicitly described as simulations. At the 100 W selection, the unit cycles 500 W on for two seconds and off for eight; the 300 W selection uses 500 W for six seconds and off for four. Those are not continuously delivered 100- or 300-watt levels. A shopper can still prefer the fine-grained labels over a simpler high/low control, but should not infer a gentle, uninterrupted simmer from the numbers alone. If precise low heat is essential, compare the manufacturer’s operating description and consider how a pulsed cycle behaves with the specific food and pan rather than treating the label as a lab measurement.

SPT also lists a separate Keep Warm function with thirteen discrete values from 100°F to 390°F. The page does not describe them as degree-by-degree adjustments or confirm an internal food probe. The touch-sensitive panel has a lock and LED display, while automatic pan detection is listed. These details make the model easier to narrow for someone who wants separate cooking and holding controls, but they do not establish temperature accuracy, timer-end behavior, or probe feedback.

A single plug-in zone with a modest ceiling

At 1,300 W and 120 V, this is not the right profile if a higher maximum or two simultaneous pans is your must-have. The surface is one micro-crystal ceramic plate with one induction ring; removing a pan or changing its position is not a way to turn it into two cooking zones. A suitable flat ferromagnetic base is necessary for induction, yet the exact SR-964TB page does not give a minimum or maximum magnetic-base diameter. Measure the pan’s flat base, not the rim, and use the exact instructions supplied with the unit before treating a particular pot size as compatible.

SPT lists the body as 11.81 inches wide, 14.17 deep and 2.48 high. It lists 4.5 pounds net, but the instruction PDF linked from the product page is titled for SR-964T, without the B suffix, and gives a different 5.06-pound unit weight. Since that is not an exact-model manual bridge, the review does not choose one figure as a normalized weight or transfer the PDF’s other manual-only requirements. The direct product page does not document a cutout, built-in installation, clearance schedule, circuit-amp requirement, cord length, or outdoor plan. Treat it as a countertop reference and check the actual appliance label and instructions before planning ventilation or electrical use.

Black base offer versus the named-pot package

The SR-964TB page names the cooker but does not say the HK-4200B pot is supplied. SPT lists a separate SKU, SR-964TB-42B, whose exact package page identifies this black cooktop together with one HK-4200B 3.5-liter stainless pot and glass lid. If the exact vessel is important, use the bundle’s own assessment instead of assuming a pan shown in a gallery or a separately sold component comes with the base listing. If you already own a compatible induction pan, the base cooktop avoids making a cookware package part of the decision. In either case the cooking system remains one 1,300-watt zone.

Who it fits, and when to compare another SPT

The SR-964TB is a sensible shortlist candidate for someone who specifically wants black styling, one portable zone, 120 V / 60 Hz input, a maximum listed setting of 1,300 W, separate Cook and Warm choices, and an eight-hour-listed timer. It is a weaker match if an exact pan-base interval, built-in dimensions, food-probe operation, continuous 100-watt heating, verified unit weight, or guaranteed availability is a hard condition. Unknowns should stay unknown: another SPT manual or the visually similar silver unit cannot fill those gaps without an exact suffix match.

For the silver trim version, compare the SR-964TS assessment; its own page carries the same listed power ladder and Keep Warm steps, but has its own linked-manual suffix conflict. If higher output is more important than the small footprint, the SR-1886BK and SR-1883S reviews document different maxima and cookware limits. Those differences are reasons to compare exact models, not grounds to move one model’s pan guidance or installation notes onto the SR-964TB.

SPT SR-964TB product page · SPT SR-964TB-42B exact package

Key details at a glance

Simultaneous cooking zones1
Built-in installation documentedNo
Documented placement optionscountertop
Selectable power modes100 / 300 / 500 / 700 / 900 / 1100 / 1300 W
Lowest selectable power mode100 W
Maximum listed power1300 W
Body depth14.17 in
Body width11.81 in
Body height2.48 in
Listed voltage120 V
Dedicated Keep Warm shortcutNo
Temperature Mode minimum100 °F
Temperature Mode maximum390 °F
Temperature settings13
Countdown timer maximum480 min
Listed supply voltage120 V
Cooktop finishBlack
Shared output between zonesNo
Maximum combined power across active zones1300 W
Left zone maximum when used alone1300 W
Zone heating technologiesinduction

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Paper, software and setup details

Cookware fit and manual discrepancy

The exact page describes induction operation with ferromagnetic cookware but gives no exact minimum or maximum magnetic-base measurement. Its linked PDF identifies SR-964T rather than SR-964TB; do not transfer pan-size limits from that manual to this SKU.

Placement and permitted-use guidance

The exact SR-964TB page describes a one-zone induction cooktop but provides no suffix-matched built-in installation drawing, clearance or circuit-amp requirement. The linked PDF cover is SR-964T, so its manual-only installation rules are not treated as exact SR-964TB facts.

Warranty start and exclusions note

No exact SR-964TB warranty term or remaining coverage is established by the product page. The linked instruction PDF is for SR-964T without B; do not treat it as an exact-suffix current guarantee.

Sources for this assessment

Choose for the cooking setup you will use.

Compare exact model controls, zone count, pan fit and operating limits—not only headline wattage.